Lies (A Poem)

I wrote this poem today and I haven’t written one in a long time. I hope you read this poem and enjoy it. I would love your feedback, so don’t be shy.

Lies

Because…

I gave every piece of me

to an existence as soft and safe as fresh butter.

I am without

love.

But,

I am not as you imagine;

too tenderhearted to touch-

plain and full of shame.

I am not the gifted

nor

the beloved.

I am

the left behind

a light forgotten

Simple truth twisted–

Eerie

like heavy footsteps in the dark.

By Tashia Hill

Leave a Reply

